Recipe: Garlic Miso Kidney Bean and Wild Rice Bowl


THE other night, I got home a bit later than I intended. I had yet to prepare lunch for work the next day and it was getting late. “It’s okay,” I thought to myself, life gets in the way of being organised sometimes and you have to be a bit creative with what you’ve got.

I must confess that I hadn’t found the time to do the weekly grocery shop yet and so I scrambled around to see if there was anything that I could make a meal out of. I had some leftover wild rice in the fridge, a tin of kidney beans and a few half-portions of veggies that needed using up. Perfect! With the aid of a couple of my trusty store cupboard staples, I managed to produce a quick and tasty lunch.

ingredients

Cooking time: 10-15 minutes

Serves: 4 portions

Ingredients

1 Bowl of left over rice (or 1 pouch of microwavable rice)

1 Can of kidney beans

1 Onion, sliced

1/2 Red pepper, chopped

Handful of green beans, chopped

Handful of sugar snap peas

4 Mushrooms, sliced

2 Tomatoes, quartered

A few broccoli florets

1/2 A bag of spinach

3 Cloves of garlic, crushed (or 1 block of frozen garlic)

A pinch of dried chilli flakes

2 tsp Miso paste

2 tsp Tomato puree

Splash of soy sauce

Method

  1. Start by heating a wok over a medium heat with a drizzle of oil. Once the oil is hot, add the onions, red pepper, green beans, broccoli and sugar snap peas. Stir fry for 2-3 minutes.
  2. When the other ingredients begin to soften, add the garlic, spinach, mushrooms and tomatoes. Stir until the spinach has wilted.
  3. Add the kidney beans, miso paste, chilli flakes, tomato puree and soy sauce to taste. Keep the mixture moving to coat all the ingredients in the sauce.
  4. The vegetables should now be cooked through and coated in a sticky miso glaze. Mix in the rice, add a splash of water (no more than 1/2 a tablespoon) and if the mixture seems dry, a touch more soy sauce.
  5. Finish with a grind of black pepper and a squeeze of lime if desired. Serve.

 

I portioned this up into boxes for work lunches but this would make a great addition to a buffet table, BBQ or served as part of a main meal alongside seared salmon or steak.

Don’t forget to hashtag #apinchofwild on Instagram with your foodie pictures!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Garlic Miso Kidney Bean and Wild Rice Bowl

  1. mmmm yum! this looks lovely, something I would love to give a go. I’ll have to grab these ingredients and make it myself. I’ll be sure to make some extra to portion up for work too. I’m on a bit of a health kick now and I think this would fit in with it perfectly! love your blog so much already xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

